The Everyday Fabulous Woman: Look Back, Move Forward

I was working with a student last week on the song “Hopelessly Devoted To You” from Grease. We were discussing many of the lyrics, but in particular the verse, “I know I’m just a fool who’s willin’, to sit around and wait for you. But baby can’t you see there’s nothing else for me to do. I’m hopelessly devoted to you.” We discussed how in that time period, it was a perfectly normal thing for a woman to wait for her man because that was taught to her as the only thing she needed. Could you imagine what would happen if this musical were written modern day? That it would be ok for a woman to completely change herself to be something she’s not just to be with her high school boyfriend? There would be an outrage!!!

My thoughts later drifted to my grandma who grew up in the 50s. She was totally this person and most of these thoughts have stayed with her. To her it is completely acceptable and honorable to change yourself for your man. That getting married and keeping your husband happy is the most important thing you can do. I told her once that I was working on losing some weight (after my first pregnancy). Her response was, “Why? You’ve already got your husband.” As if losing weight and being fit was only useful in the means of obtaining your husband. I’m so glad most women aren’t of this mindset anymore.

Every so often I see these rants on social media about “in the old days….” How in this decade or that decade our government did such and such and that’s how we should do it now. Why? Because it worked 60 years ago? Guess what….it’s not 1960 or 1970 or 1980. Things are changing and we have to progress.

Sometimes I look at myself and think about things I used to do or things I used to say. I think about how awesome my life used to be and start thinking that I should go back to they way I used to be. As if you can magically become the person you were 10 years ago with no husband and no kids. That just doesn’t work. I’m not that person. I’ve changed, the world has changed, life had changed. Looking backwards is great, moving backwards is not the answer.

Cindy S.Hello, my name is Cindy, and I am a singer (All together now: “Hi Cindy”). I own my own business as a private voice instructor to hundreds of students all over the world. As the wife of a musician, mother of two adorable children, and motivator/inspirer/teacher of singers, I am always pursuing the goal of becoming SuperWoman. If I’m not singing or cleaning up after the many loves of my life, you can find me hiding in my shoe closet with a bottle of red wine and a box of chocolates.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Everyday Fabulous Woman

Leave a comment